Southern States Championship

Charlotte Curlers, I am pleased to announce Triangle Curling Club will be hosting the 2nd Annual Southern States Championship in Durham, NC from May 11-13, 2018. Charlotte Curling Association has received invites for two teams. The first team will come from the winner of the Fall 2017 Monday Night Competitive League. The winning skip and their team will have the opportunity to represent Charlotte at the annual event. The second team will be the winner from the Southern States Charlotte Club Playdowns (Club Championships) scheduled for March 9-11, 2018 at the Charlotte Curling Club.

Any team fully comprised of Charlotte Curlers can enter the event. The cost to enter the playdowns is $20/team (non-refundable). The playdowns format and draw times will be determine by the number of teams that enter. The deadline to enter the playdowns will be February 28, 2018 . A minimum of three players of the team that enter the playdowns must be able to compete in the Regional Championships from May 11-13, 2018 at the Trianlge Curling Club. If the winning team of the Fall 2017 Monday Night Competitive League is unable to compete, then the second place team from the playdowns will be offered the second invite. Charlotte Curlers please create and enter your team into the Charlotte Club Playdowns today. Click here to register (login required).

Any questions about the event should be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Triangle Invite

Hello fellow Southern Curlers!

With the success of last year’s inaugural championship event hosted by the Charlotte Curling Association, we look forward to making this an annual tradition that brings together the top curling teams in the southeastern United States. It gives us the opportunity to build bonds between our clubs and support the growth of competitive curling in our region.

This year’s championship will be held at the Triangle Curling Club in Durham, NC from May 11-13, 2018. We’re extending invitations to even more clubs this year, including all clubs in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and eastern Tennessee.


  • The field will consist of a maximum of 16 teams.

  • Invitations are being extended to the following clubs:

    • Curling Club of Virginia - 1 team

    • Blue Ridge Curling Club - 1 team

    • Triangle Curling Club - 2 teams

    • Charlotte Curling Association - 2 teams

    • Coastal Carolina Curling Club - 1 team

    • Palmetto Curling Club - 1 team

    • Charleston Curling Club - 1 team

    • Atlanta Curling Club - 1 team

    • Peachtree Curling Association - 2 teams

    • Tampa Bay Curling Club - 1 team

    • Orlando Curling Club - 1 team

    • Great Smoky Mountains Curling Club - 1 team

    • 16th spot will be offered to the defending champion

  • Each club will decide independently how teams from their clubs will be determined.

  • Teams are open (no limits on number of men or women) and are made up of league playing members of the club.

  • If any club does not accept its invitation, we will allow the remaining clubs to send additional teams if they wish. Clubs with one invitation will be given preference over a club with two invitations to fill any extra spots on a first come, first serve basis.

  • Entry fees will be $200 per team.

  • Meals are not provided. There will be simple draw snacks. Bar will be open.

  • Pool play with a 3 game guarantee (format subject to change based on number of entries).

  • Top two teams from each pool will advance to 8 team playoff.

  • All teams play one game Friday evening (first draw at 6:30pm).

  • All teams play one game Saturday morning.

  • All teams play one game Saturday afternoon.

  • Quarter-finals Saturday evening.

  • Semi-finals and finals Sunday morning (final draw will start at noon).


April 20, 2018: Final team rosters and payments submitted to the event host.

Event Co-coordinators

We look forward to seeing you in May to close out the 2017-2018 curling season!

Chris Jaun & Abby Morrison

Southern States Championship Past Winners

2017: Chris Juan, Derek Corbett, Abby Morrison, Matt Henning (Triangle Curling)

2018: Chris Juan, Derek Corbett, Abby Morrison, Matt Henning (Triangle Curling)

Member Login

Upcoming Events


Back to Top